In keeping with our current practice of maintaining 3 years of courses in Brightspace, we will soon begin deleting 2014 courses from Brightspace. Instructors sometimes report that their list of courses has grown too long. In those cases, we can manually unenroll the instructor from older courses, but this is a cumbersome process. Certain tools in Brightspace pull information from all of your courses (whether you see it or not), which in turn slows down the system and negatively affects your experience. For these reasons, it is time to begin deleting old courses from Brightspace. This will help to keep the system running smoothly and efficiently and to reduce the amount of clutter on your Brightspace homepage.
As we have done in the past, we are going to approach this in 3 steps:
- We will identify and label the 2014 courses that will be deleted. This will give you an opportunity to make your own backup of these courses.
- After 30 days, we will archive the 2013 courses for 60 days.
- We will delete the 2014 courses.
||Label 2014 semesters to be deleted
||Archive all 2014 courses
||Delete all 2014 courses
Step 1: What happens when a course is labeled?
When a course is labeled, no other changes to it will be made. This will provide an opportunity for you to make your own backup of any courses that you would like to keep.
How will I know a course has been identified?
On your Brightspace homepage, look for semester headings that include the note ** TO BE DELETED ** – any courses listed with those semester headings will be affected.
If you do not see any 2014 courses on your homepage, you can click on the View All Courses link and then filter by the ** TO BE DELETED ** semesters.
Step 2: What happens when a course is archived?
When a course is archived, the course will no longer appear on your Brightspace homepage. All student submissions and data will no longer be available. During this 60-day time period, a copy of the archived course can be made available in a zip file format. The zip file will contain all of the course structure, layout, and course materials. It will not contain grades or student submissions. You will need to request a copy of the archived course using a Footprints ticket.
Step 3: What happens when a course is deleted?
When a course is deleted, the course is completely removed from the system with no method for retrieving it. This includes all course materials, files, and student data.
What courses will be affected?
It has been our practice to maintain all course materials and student data for 3 years. Therefore, all 2014 courses will be deleted. On your Brightspace homepage or list of courses, look for semester headings that include the note ** TO BE DELETED ** – all courses located under those semester headings will be affected.
I have several courses that are listed as Ongoing. Will those be affected?
No. Courses in the 0001_Ongoing semester heading will not be affected.
Will removing old courses affect my current course materials?
In cases where a course is offered on a regular basis by the same instructor, the instructor typically copies course materials from a previous semester to the current semester. Since the materials have been copied, removing the source course will not affect the current materials.
How can I make a copy of my course structure and materials?
To make a copy of your course, you can export the course to a ZIP file. Please note that this will not include any student data or submissions.
How do I make a copy of my students’ grades?
To make a copy of your gradebook, you can export grades to a CSV file.
How do I backup student assignments?
To make a backup of assignments submitted by your students, visit the Assignment Folder for each assignment you wish to backup. You can select all of your students with submissions and then Download their assignments as a ZIP file. Brightspace will automatically append the user’s name to the name of each file included in the ZIP.
Who can I contact for questions?
You can contact the IT Help Desk at email@example.com, or by phone at 330.972.6888.