Univ. of Akron Research Foundation–Intern in Entrepreneurship & Innovation

The University of Akron Research Foundation is accepting applications for an Intern in Entrepreneurship and Innovation. The intern will research, collect, and interpret data, work with management to develop a website strategy and collect and interpret metrics, organize meetings and special events, and coordinates public-relations activities. The position requires an undergraduate degree in a relevant discipline and coursework leading to a graduate degree–law and/or business is preferred.

The position would be a good fit for someone interested in technology commercialization, entrepreneurship, venture capital, and/or economic development. The intern should have strong leadership and interpersonal skills, critical thinking and research skills, and should be a self-starter. This is a paid internship.

To apply, submit your resume and cover letter to rschsrvssa2@uakron.edu. Applications are due by March 31, 2017.

Read More

ABA Center for Innovation-Microsoft NextGen Fellow

ABA Center for Innovation

The ABA Center for Innovation encourages and accelerates innovations that improve the accessibility, effectiveness, and efficiency of legal services in the United States. Through its Fellows Program, the Center works with established and emerging leaders to develop cutting-edge legal tech and process innovations.

ABA Center for Innovation-Microsoft NextGen Fellow

Among other exciting projects related to innovation in legal services, in 2016, Microsoft announced a partnership with the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) to create statewide online justice portals. The project’s aim is to direct low-income persons to appropriate legal aid resources in each state. It seeks to transform a system that is too often opaque, confusing, and inefficient into a single, simple, statewide access point for legal aid resources.

In residence at Microsoft headquarters in Redmond, Washington, the ABA Center for Innovation-Microsoft NextGen Fellow will spend most of his or her time helping to advance the LSC portal project, while also contributing to a variety of other technology initiatives. The Fellow will join an exclusive cohort of ABA NextGen and Innovation Fellows, most of whom will be in residence at ABA Headquarters in Chicago Illinois. The ABA Center for Innovation-Microsoft NextGen Fellow may therefore travel on occasion to meet with ABA members, staff, and Fellows at ABA Headquarters.


The Center is seeking a recent (within the last 5 years) law school graduate to spend one year in residence (August 1, 2017 – July 31, 2018) at Microsoft headquarters in Redmond, Washington. This Fellow will receive a $45,000 salary and benefits. Bar admission is not necessary.

Candidates should have the following qualifications:

  • Commitment to improving access to justice
  • Working knowledge of technology design and web development
  • Experience working in a collaborative environment
  • Curiosity about the evolution of legal services


Applicants should submit the following:

  • A short statement (500 to 750 words) demonstrating their interest in and qualifications for the ABA Center for Innovation-Microsoft NextGen Fellow
  • A resume, including links (if available) to a website or professional social media profile
  • A short (approximately two minute) video or multimedia presentation, highlighting the candidate’s qualifications

Please submit your application to innovationcenter@americanbar.org by April 15, 2017.

Selection Process

Applications will be reviewed by ABA members and staff, as well as by Microsoft staff. Finalists will be contacted in early April to schedule an interview.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I work during my fellowship?
The Fellows Program is a full-time commitment. Fellows should not pursue outside work.

Can I work remotely?
No. The ABA Center for Innovation-Microsoft NextGen Fellow will be hosted at Microsoft headquarters in Redmond, Washington, with occasional visits to ABA Headquarters in Chicago, Illinois.

What will the ABA provide during the fellowship?
All fellows will have access to many of the nation’s top legal innovators, educators, technologists, and designers. Additionally, they will receive a comprehensive Boot Camp training. Fellows will receive a $45,000 salary, plus benefits.

Do I have to be a programmer?
You do not have to be a programmer. However, you should have an understanding of legal tech solutions.

Do I have to be a lawyer or law graduate?
NextGen Fellows must be recent (within five years) law school graduates

Read More

Ohio Association of Civil Trial Attorneys 2017 Diversity Scholarships Available (click on flyer below)

Read More

On Campus Informational Interviews w/U.S. Air Force JAG Corps.

U.S. Air Force JAG Corps – Wright Patterson AF Base – Dayton, OH – April 4, 2017

Open to 1L, 2L, 3L summer. Submit your law resume to lawcareerplanning@uakron.edu.

Deadline March 29, 2017.

Read More

Public Interest Auction & Trivia Night–Friday, March 24!

SBA is hosting its annual public interest auction- this year featuring a TRIVIA NIGHT!  The event will be held on Friday, March 24, 2017 from 6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. at the Portage Country Club, located at 240 North Portage Path, Akron, OH 44303.

Purchase your tickets and/or register a trivia team at: https://commerce.cashnet.com/LAWORG

This event raises funds for Akron Law’s public interest fellowship, which provides stipends to students working in public interest jobs that would not otherwise be paid.  If you wish to receive a stipend from the Public Interest fund, you must attend the auction or otherwise contribute to the event.

Show off your trivia knowledge with teams of up to six people, and engage in some friendly competition with your classmates, professors, and the Akron legal community! Questions will cover a large range of categories including entertainment, geography, sports, and even local trivia!

Between rounds of trivia, we will have several items up for live auction, and a silent auction will be accessible throughout the evening.  Items up for auction this year include a J.R. Smith autographed jersey and shirt, Lake Erie Monsters tickets, a round of golf for four at Shaker Heights Country Club, dinners with your favorite professors, and much more!

Tickets for the evening are $10 for students/guests of students and $20 for anyone else.  All are welcome to attend.  Registration for a trivia team of 6 people is an additional $20.  All proceeds from this event will go to the Akron Law Public Interest Fellowship Fund. Please direct any questions to Haley Martinelli at hkm8@zips.uakron.edu or ask your SBA Class Representatives.

Read More