Important Dates for Summer 2018

Add/Drop Dates
 
  Intersession I 5 Week One 10 Week 5 Week Two Intersession II
Add:          
Last day to add without signatures Sun. May 13, 2018 Sat., June 2, 2018 Fri., June 1, 2018 Tues., July 3, 2018 Sun., Aug. 5, 2018
Last day to add with Instructor and Asst. Dean signatures Mon., May 14, 2018 Thurs., June 7, 2018 Thurs., June 7, 2018 Fri., July 6, 2018 Mon. Aug. 6, 2018
           
Drop:          
Last day to drop without “WD” appearing on academic record Mon., May 14, 2018 Thurs., June 7, 2018 Thurs., June 7, 2018 Fri., July 6, 2018 Mon., Aug. 6, 2018
Last Day to withdraw Sat., May 19, 2018 Fri., June 29, 2018 Thurs., June 28, 2018 Tues., July 17, 2018 Sat., Aug. 11, 2018
           
Grade Due Dates
 
Exam Date: Sun., May 27, 2018 Fri., June 29, 2018 Fri., Aug. 3, 2018 Fri., Aug. 3, 2018 Sun., Aug. 19, 2018
    PR: Fri., June 22, 2018      
Grade Rosters Available: Thurs., May 24, 2018 Sat., Jun 30, 2018 Sat., Aug. 4, 2018 Sat., Aug 4, 2018 Thurs., Aug. 16, 2018
           
Grades Due Tues., June 5, 2018 Thurs., July 12, 2018 Thurs., Aug. 16, 2018 Thurs., Aug. 16, 2018 Tues., Aug. 28, 2018
           
Grades Posted Wed., June 6, 2018 Fri., July 13, 2018 Fri., Aug. 17, 2018 Fri., Aug. 17, 2018 Wed., Aug. 29, 2018
           
Transcripts Available Wed., August 29, 2018

Spring 2018 Class Rankings on Brightspace

Spring 2018 Class Rankings are now available on Brightspace.  Here’s how to access the rankings:

  • Login to My Akron on the the UA website
  • In My Akron, go to the “My Experience” tab
  • Click on the orange B, “Brightspace” link
  • Scroll down and click “View All Courses”
  • Click on the Law School Resources
  • Click on Course Materials in the top menu bar
  • Select Content
  • Scroll down to Class Rankings

Please read the introductory information before reviewing your ranking so that you will understand were your GPA will appear.  If you have any questions, please contact Liz Wascak (liz@uakron.edu) for assistance.

Anywhere! — Bilingual Summer Opportunity – Pro Tem Legal Solutions

AkronLawJobs No. 9379 Overview: Seeking bilingual and multilingual law students to staff an 8 to 10-week contract cataloging project for a Midwest-based client. The company operates internationally and has multiple project position available. Project will begin on June 18, 2018

Duties: Work from home! Read, review and tag search terms on leases and other contracts for the company. Training will be provided by the company for the project scheduled to begin on June 18th.

Qualifications: Finished a minimum of your 1L year, 2L 3L. Speak any of these languages: Spanish, German, Dutch, Mandarin, French, Danish, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Korean, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian or Polish.

How to Apply: Send your resume to Katie Lange, Director of Recruiting at katie.lange@protem.pro. Questions? Call her at (513) 500-4881.

Deadline: June 15, 2018

Bar Prep Workshops – Tuesday afternoon/Wed evening

The first of 5 bar prep workshops will be held this week!

  • Essay Structure Workshop:  Tuesday, June 5:  1:30 PM – L-201 or Wednesday, June 6:   5:30 PM – L-202

 Graders spend an average of 2-3 minutes reading each of your essays.  Those 2-3 minutes will determine whether you will earn a license to practice law.   Learn to make your essay grader-friendly so that those minutes count!

  • [Note:  ALA alumni are absolutely welcome to join  this session for a refresher, but it is very similar to the  introduction to essay writing in ALA.]
  • Food & informal Q&A starts at 1:00/6:00; the workshop starts at 1:30/6:30 PM and will last no more than an hour and a half.
  • Please bring your computer (if you expect to take the exam using a computer), an electronic version of any essay you have written, OR 2 paper copies of your essay and multiple highlighters of different colors)
  • All workshops available by webex:  https://uakron.webex.com/join/nlr22
  • Sign up here so I make sure to bring enough food!

(Note:  If you were unable to sign up for ALA in the fall, due to schedule conflicts, but wanted to build  an equivalent experience – this is one of the places to start!)

Remainder of the workshops (all Tuesday afternoon/Wednesday evening EXCEPT the second)

  • Wednesday, June 13 (both afternoon and evening) –   MPT Organizing Strategies
  • Tuesday, June 19/Wednesday, June 20  –   Making up the Rules
  • Tuesday, June 26/Wednesday June  27 – MBE Strategies and Tactics:
  • Tuesday, July 10/Wednesday, July 11 –  MPT Exam Simulation
  • Saturday, July 14, 12:00 – 5:00 PM:  Half-day Hangout (Not a workshop – but Saturday may turn into a marathon issue spotting session)

Questions?  nlr22@uakron.edu

3 New Courses added to Fall 2018 Schedule

We are excited to announce the addition of 3 courses for Fall 2018, which are now open for registration:

(77748) 9200:688-002 Legal Drafting for International Practice (2 cr.) w/ Prof. Sarah Cravens.  This course will meet on Wednesdays from 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM

(77751) 9200:684-005 Securities Regulation (2 cr.) w/ Prof. Padfield.  This course will meet on Thursdays from 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM

(77747) 9200:805-801 Licensing Intellectual Property (3 cr.) w/ Adjunct Prof. Louis Wagner.  This course will meet on Wednesdays from 6:30 – 9:30 PM.