## 2015

1st Place: lan Chaves - Akron 2nd Place: David Walters – CWRU 3rd Place: Brandi Roberts – Akron

# 2014

1st Place: Josephine Begin - CSU 2nd Place: Ashley Wakefield - Akron 3rd Place: Brandi Roberts - Akron

# 2013

1st Place: Justin Workman - Akron 2nd Place: Colin Beisel - Akron 3rd Place: Lavell Payne - Akron

# 2012

1st Place: Scott Lippert - CWRU 2nd Place: James Stevick - CWRU 3rd Place: Robert Campbell - Akron

# 2011

1st Place:
Daniel Bray - Akron
2nd Place:
Daniel Leister - Akron
3rd Place:
Scott Lippert - CWRU

### 2010

1st Place: Christina Spallina - CWRU 2nd Place: Wes Buchanan - Akron 3rd Place: Daniel Leister - Akron

# 2009

1st Place: Theresa Bratton - Akron 2nd Place: Eric Ledger- Akron 3rd Place: Patrick Hakes-CWRU

# 2008

1st Place: Brian Dodez - Akron 2nd Place: Kenneth Jacobson - Akron 3rd Place: Seth McCloskey - Toledo

# 2007

1st Place: Matthew Bruce - Akron 2nd Place: Brian Dodez - Akron 3rd Place: Adam Davis - CSU

# 2006

1st Place: Jason Wolfrey - Akron 2nd Place: Andy Cipriani - Akron 3rd Place: Jarrett Benson - Toledo

# 2005

1st Place: Andy Cipriani-Akron 2nd Place: Elisabeth Akers - Akron 3rd Place: Vik Vilkhu- CWRU



# 18th ANNUAL LAW STUDENT CLOSING ARGUMENT COMPETITION

# Thursday, October 13, 2016

Open to 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> year law students from Ohio law schools who will give a 15 minute closing argument in a civil case for the plaintiff, a catastrophically injured child. Argument will be on damages only.

Fact pattern, exhibits, and demonstrative evidence will be furnished.

National and local team of judges, including experienced trial lawyers with over 20 years of experience, media personalities, judicial officials, and child advocates.

The top three students will receive cash scholarship awards of \$750 for 1st place, \$500 for second place and \$200 for third place. All participants are invited to attend a reception to follow at the law offices of Landskroner Grieco Merriman, LLC located in Cleveland's Warehouse District.

Although all participants are invited to attend the entire evening of competition, it is only necessary to be present 30 minutes in advance of the pre-assigned time for argument.

\* \* \*

# **To Apply Please Contact:**

Landskroner Grieco Merriman, LLC @ (216) 522-9000
Ask for Anathea or email anathea@lgmlegal.com
Deadline for applications is October 3, 2016
Competition limited to 12 contestants ~ apply today!

Sponsored By: The Landskroner Foundation for Children and Landskroner Grieco Merriman

# **Previous Winners**

#### 2004

Stephanie Adams-Akron 2<sup>nd</sup> Place: Amanda Buzo - Akron 3<sup>rd</sup> Place: Adrienne Stemen - Akron

1st Place:

1st Place:

### 2003

Stuart Baker - Akron 2nd Place: Mike Rickett - Akron 3rd Place: Terri Jamison - Capital

# 2002

1st Place: Martin O' Connell - CSU 2nd Place: Veronica Lindsay -Capital 3rd Place: Reid Yoder - Akron

### 2001

1st Place: Teresa Dirksen - Akron 2nd Place: Michael Scirtino - Akron 3rd Place:

# Rennie Zifferblatt - CSU **2000**

1st Place: Brian Zaber - CSU 2nd Place: Charles Shinn - Akron 3rd Place: Rennie Zifferblatt - CSU

# 1999

1st Place:
Jim Popson
2nd Place:
William Dawson
3rd Place:
David Burkholder