Comma After Love


Edited by Donald Justice, Cooper R. Mackin, and Richard D. Olson, with an Introduction by Donald Justice

Pages: 112; Size: 6″ x 9″
Series: Akron Series in Poetry

SKU: 978-1-884836-03-9 Category: Tags: ,


From more than nine hundred poems left behind at the poet’s death, Donald Justice has chosen the seventy-four representative works that comprise The Comma After Love. By turns rueful and amused, intimate and restrained, these poems speak movingly about the difficulties of love and faith, the pleasure of friendship and poetry, the loneliness and disappointments of the solitary life. In his introduction to this volume, Donald Justice calls Raeburn Miller “a natural poet who found writing a thing he did simply as a part, an important part, of staying alive,” and discovers in these poems an “expansive and unshakably romantic spirit that drives the work and in the end proves exhilarating.”

Raeburn Miller continued to work in his own quiet way, convinced, surely, that his work was worth the effort and that someday, perhaps after death, a larger reading public would come to recognize its value. This volume provides that opportunity for those who knew his work and those who were denied that privilege.
—W. Kenneth Holditch, Louisiana Literature

About the authors

Raeburn Miller

Raeburn Miller was born in 1934 in Austin, Texas. He completed a BA at the University of Texas, and an MA at the University of Iowa, where he studied with Donald Justice. Miller taught in the Department of English at the University of New Orleans from 1960 until his death in 1990. Two chapbooks and one full-length collection of poems, Millenary, were published during his lifetime.

Additional information


Paperback, Hardcover


Akron Series in Poetry


Donald Justice, Raeburn Miller

Pub Date