Current PhD Students

  • Nuwan Kankanamge
  • Sajjad Emdadi Mahdimahalleh 
  • Mehdi Hosein Alizadeh
  • Iman Pourmohammadi
  • Tarig Hyder

Current MSc Students

  • Fahmid Mahmud (non-thesis option; working on an engineering report)

Former PhD Students

  • Bach Tran (PhD, December 2022, co-supervised with Prof. Shivakumar Sastry, 1st employment: Tradefull); PhD Dissertation: Framework for Artificial Intelligence Assisted Augmented Reality Systems for Education and Training.
  • Md. Hasan Rahman (PhD, December 2021, 1st employment: Facebook); PhD Dissertation: Capacity Limits and Signal Design for Heterogeneous Networks with Ultra-Low Resolution Analog to Digital Converter.
  • Mohammad Ranjbar (PhD, July 2019, with outstanding ECE Thesis Award, 1st employment: Quantenna Communications); PhD Dissertation: Optimal Signaling Strategies and Fundamental Limits of Next-Generation Energy-Efficient Wireless Networks.
  • Duc-Anh Le (PhD, August 2016, 1st employment: University of Iowa, Postdoctoral Scholar); PhD Dissertation: Fundamental Limits of Communication Channels under Non-Gaussian Interference.
  • Leonardo Jimenez Rodriguez (PhD, August 2014 (McGill University), co-supervised with Prof. Tho Le-Ngoc, 1st employment: Samsung Research); PhD Dissertation: Half- and Full-Duplex Amplify-and-Forward Single-Relay Systems: Achievable Rates, Power Allocations and Code Designs.

Former MSc Students

  • Sejuti Banik (MSc, July 2022); MSc Thesis: Signaling Schemes and Fundamental Limits of a 2-User Static Gaussian Multiple-Access Channel with 1-Bit Analog-To-Digital-Converter.
  • Ying Wang (MSc, May 2020) – Non-thesis option
  • Minh Vu (MSc, July 2018); MSc Thesis: Optimal Signaling Schemes and Capacities of Non-Coherent Correlated MISO Channels under Per-Antenna Power Constraints.
  • Suresh Madishetty  (MSc, May 2018, co-supervised with Prof. Arjuna Madanayake); MSc Thesis: Design of Multi-Beam Hybrid Digital Beamforming Receivers.
  • Hasitha Bothenna (MSc, January 2018); MSc Thesis: Approximation of Information Rates in Non-Coherent MISO Wireless Channels with Finite Input Signals.
  • Geethika Dissanayakage Wijeratne (MSc, June 2017); MSc Thesis: Fundamental Limits of Non-Coherent Rician Fading Channels with 1-Bit Output Quantization.
  • Mohamed Elamin (MSc, June 2017, co-supervised with Prof. Shivakumar Sastry); MSc Thesis: Performance Analysis of Software Defined Network Concepts in Networked Embedded Systems.
  • Sravan Kumar Pulipati (MSc, May 2017, co-supervised with Prof. Arjuna Madanayake); MSc Thesis: Electronically-Scanned Wideband Digital Aperture Antenna Arrays using Multi-Dimensional Space-Time Circuit-Network Resonance.
  • Lubna Elsaid (MSc, June 2016); MSc Thesis: Physical-Layer Security with Full-Duplex Decode-and-Forward Relaying: Secrecy Rates and Power Allocation.
  • Cuong Dang (MSc, December 2015, with outstanding ECE Thesis Award); MSc Thesis: Optimal Power Allocation and Secrecy Capacity of The Full-Duplex Amplify-and-Forward Wire-tap Relay Channel Under Residual Self-Interference.
  • Rajika Kumarasiri (MSc, November 2014 (University of Toledo), co-supervised with Prof. Vijay Devabhktuni); MSc Thesis: Development of Novel Algorithms for Localization in Wireless Sensor Networks.
  • Hung Vu (MSc, June 2014, with Research Assistant of the Year Award); MSc Thesis: Capacities of Bernoulli-Gaussian Impulsive Noise Channels in Rayleigh Fading.
  • Tamseel Mahmood Syed (MSc, January 2014); MSc Thesis: Precoder Design Based on Mutual Information for Non-orthogonal Amplify and Forward Wireless Relay Networks.
  • Tuyen Tran (MSc, August 2013, with the prestigious Dean’s Summer Fellowship); MSc Thesis: Achievable Rate and Capacity of Amplify-and-Forward Multi-Relay Networks with Channel State Information.

Former Undergraduate Students (Undergraduate Research)

  • Savannah Rimmele – Cross-layer Security
  • Joseph Garro – Cross-layer Security
  • Nathaniel Raymondi – Full-Duplex Radio
  • Michael Seredich – Full-Duplex Radio

Prospective Graduate Students

I am currently looking for some Ph.D. students. Basic requirements include: (1) meet admission requirements for ECE, University of Akron; (2) strong backgrounds in mathematics and programming skills; (3) interest and motivations in doing high impact research in Communications. Applicants with their own funding are welcome. If you are interested, please send me your CV (in pdf).