Karen Gallagher

Office: For Judge of the Williams County Court of Common Pleas, Probate/Juvenile Division 
Term Beginning 2/9/2021

Age: 58

Residence: Bryan



Social Media: 

Occupation: Magistrate for the Williams County Common Pleas Court, all Divisions

Education: JD from the University of Toledo College of Law, BA from Bowling Green State University

Work Experience: May, 2016 to present – Magistrate; 1986 to 2016 Attorney/Partner in a general practice firm in Bryan, Ohio

Family: Married, one child

Affiliations: Bryan Rotary Club – past president, Bryan Area Foundation – Trustee, OSBA member, Williams County Bar Association – past present, Trinity Lutheran Church


Bar Association Ratings: 

(1) List your judicial experience (courts and years)
In May 2016 I was appointed as the sole Magistrate for the Williams County Common Pleas Court, all divisions. In this position my docket includes the following cases: domestic relations/family law cases, civil protection cases, settlement conferences in civil cases, paternity cases, and all child support cases. I also hear cases on each Judge’s docket in all divisions, as well as the specialized dockets, when a Judge is not available. This has provided me with a wide range of experience in all divisions of the Court.

(2) What about your non-judicial legal experience qualifies you to be a judge?
Prior to being appointed as the Magistrate for the Williams County Common Pleas Court, I was in private practice for 30 years. I was a partner in the general practice firm of Gallagher & Gallagher, LTD, located in Bryan, Ohio. I regularly appeared in the Court’s of Northwest Ohio, representing client’s in a wide variety of cases. I have represented clients in the type of cases that are regularly heard in the Probate and Juvenile divisions of the Court.

The legal experience that I have, combined with my responsibilities as Magistrate, have instilled in me a thorough understanding of the law and the temperament needed for this position.

(3) Why are you running for this particular court seat?
I have lived in the Williams County community for over 34 years. My entire legal career has been in this community representing clients in our County and surrounding Counties. We raised our son here. This is my home. From the moment I moved here I have been active in most every aspect of this community. I was brought up to believe that it is our civic duty to be involved and make a difference in the community where we live and work.

Over the years I have seen changes. I see solutions for the changes that are occurring through a different lens then others. I want to do all I can to make the Court accessible, to continue to create a collaborative effort between the schools and agencies in our community and help families and youth who are struggling. There is still much that needs to be done in these changing times. I want to apply the skills that I have to meet the challenges that face the people in our County.