ACCFSL 2019 Writing Competition

The American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers is pleased to announce its 2019 annual writing competition to recognize significant written contributions to the field of U.S. consumer financial services law in the following categories:

(a) books
(b) publishable articles, book chapters, or substantial book reviews by a professional in the field
(c) publishable student case notes, articles, or comments

The awards include cash payments of $5000, $3500, and $1500, respectively, a Certificate of Recognition from the College, and travel expenses to attend the Spring 2019 meeting of the College, scheduled to be held in Vancouver, British Columbia in late March 2019. In any given year, depending on submissions, awards may be made in all, some or no categories.

Eligible entries must discuss an aspect of U.S. consumer financial services law. Topics that relate principally to securities regulation, bankruptcy, insurance, or the safety-and-soundness aspects of banking regulation are not eligible. However, works on subjects within these (or other) areas will be considered if they bear directly on U.S. consumer financial services.

Entries must have been written or published between November 15, 2017, and December 1, 2018. The deadline for submission is December 1, 2018. Unpublished entries should be typed, double spaced, and in law review format. All entries should be submitted in electronic format via email to the e-mail addresses at the end of this announcement.

The American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers is a nonprofit association of attorneys who have made significant contributions to U.S. consumer financial services law over an extended period of time. Its members include academics, present and former federal and state regulatory and enforcement officers, authors in the field, private practitioners, counsel for financial institutions and other service providers, and representatives of consumer protection and advocacy organizations.

Entries must be submitted in electronic format and should be sent to:

Elizabeth C. Yen, ACCFSL Annual Writing Competition Chair
Hudson Cook, LLP and

More information on the College and the writing competition may be found at: