Student Bar Association Elections for 2018-2019

Elections for the 2018-2019 Student Bar Association Leadership are  underway!  All students can now begin the process of determining who the 2018-2019 SBA executive board and class representatives will be. Remember, all students are automatically members of the Student Bar Association; therefore it is important that you are all involved in the process of choosing your class representatives and executive board. Each class (1L, 2L, 3L, part-time) will elect 4 class representatives.  The person who receives the most votes will be appointed the class president.  The executive board is composed of the president, vice-president, treasurer, and secretary.  Your vote is crucial in electing all of these positions! SBA elections are a three-step process:

First, all those who hope to be nominated for an executive board or class representative position on SBA must get at least two nominations (you are able to nominate yourself). Nominations will open on Wednesday, April 11th and will close on Friday, April 13th at 6 p.m.

Second, each individual who receives at least two nominations for a position will receive an email asking if they would like to accept their nomination and run for the position.  If nominated for both a class representative and executive board position, you may choose to run for both.  That way, if you do not win the executive board position, you remain in the running as a class representative.  However, you may NOT run for two executive board positions.  If nominated for more than one executive board position, you will have to chose which one to accept. A student must accept his or her nomination for a position via email or the student will not be on the ballot.

Third, all nominees for President will be invited to participate in an open forum with your classmates on Monday, April 16th at 12:15 p.m. and 5:30 p.m. to briefly discuss why you would like the position and answer any questions from your classmates. The final poll with all of the candidates that have accepted their nominations will open on Wednesday, April 18th. The final poll will close on Friday, April 20th at 6 p.m.

The person with the most votes for each position will win. Each elected individual will receive an email notification and their names and position will be displayed on the announcement blog. The newly elected executive board will be contacted by the current executive board that coming week regarding leadership succession.


Below are the current executive board members and their emails.  Please feel free to reach out to any of us if you would like to learn more about what our position entails:

President: Robbie Starcher – rms191
Vice President: Matthew Aberegg – mra70
Treasurer: Ryan Robinson – rcr23
Secretary: Michael Fredericka – mjf114